توقيع مذكرة تفاهم بين المركز الإقليمي العربي للتراث العالمي والمركز الدولي لتفسير وعرض مواقع التراث العالمي

في خطوة هامة تهدف إلى تعزيز التعاون وتبادل المعرفة، وقّع المركز الإقليمي العربي للتراث العالمي (ARC-WH)، ممثلا برئيس هيئة البحرين للثقافة والآثار ورئيس مجلس إدارة المركز الإقليمي العربي للتراث العالمي معالي الشيخ خليفة بن أحمد بن عبدالله آل خليفة، والمركز الدولي لتفسير وعرض مواقع التراث العالمي، ممثلا بنائب المدير العام للمركز السيد جيسون لي، مذكرة تفاهم.

تحدد مذكرة التفاهم إطارا شاملا للتعاون في الأنشطة المشتركة المتعلقة بتحديد وتعزيز تفسير وعرض مواقع التراث العالمي في المنطقة العربية. ويلتزم كلا الطرفين، بوصفهما مركزين من الفئة 2 تحت رعاية اليونسكو، بتعزيز تنفيذ اتفاقية التراث العالمي لعام 1972.

وتحدد مذكرة التفاهم هدف إنشاء إطار عام للتعاون لتسهيل الأنشطة المشتركة والاجتماعات وتبادل المعلومات والمساعدة الفنية للدول العربية، وتهدف إلى تطوير قدرات ومعارف المتخصصين في مجال التراث، وتعزيز الحوار، ومعالجة تفسير وعرض مواقع التراث العالمي.

تشمل مجالات التعاون ما يلي:

  • تعزيز التعاون: تسهيل التعاون بين المركز الإقليمي العربي للتراث العالمي والمركز الدولي لتفسير وعرض مواقع التراث العالمي ، بما يتماشى مع المبادئ التوجيهية التشغيلية لاتفاقية التراث العالمي لعام 1972.
  • التخطيط والتنفيذ: التخطيط التعاوني وتنفيذ الأنشطة التي تتناول تفسير وعرض مواقع التراث العالمي في المنطقة العربية، مع التركيز على تعزيز الاستراتيجيات المتعلقة بخطط التفسير.
  • بناء القدرات: تعزيز قدرات المتخصصين في التراث ومدراء المواقع في إعداد وتقديم تفسير للمواد الخاصة بخطط الإدارة.
  • تبادل المعلومات: تبادل المعلومات والوثائق ذات الاهتمام المشترك، وتحديد مواضيع للتعاون المحتمل والدراسات المشتركة.
  • المشاركة المتبادلة: المشاركة في الاجتماعات والأنشطة المتعلقة بتطوير السياسات والقضايا المواضيعية التي ينظمها أي من الطرفين بمفرده أو بالتعاون مع شركاء آخرين.
  • آليات التنسيق: إنشاء آليات للتنسيق والتنفيذ الإداري لتخطيط المشاريع ذات المنفعة المتبادلة وتنسيقها وتنفيذها والإشراف عليها.

وتمثل مذكرة التفاهم خطوة مهمة نحو الاستفادة من الخبرات والموارد للحفاظ على التراث العالمي وتعزيزه في المنطقة العربية.

Memorandum of Understanding Signed Between the Arab Regional Centre for World Heritage and the International Centre for the Interpretation and Presentation of World Heritage Sites

In a significant move aimed at fostering cooperation and knowledge exchange, the Arab Regional Centre for World Heritage (ARC-WH), represented by the President of the Bahrain Authority for Culture and Antiquities and the Chairman of the Governing Board of the Arab Regional Center for World Heritage, His Excellency Sheikh Khalifa bin Ahmed Al Khalifa, and the International Center for Interpretation and Presentation of World Heritage Sites was represented by Mr. Jaesoon Lee, Deputy Director-General of the Centre, have signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU).

The MoU defines a comprehensive framework for collaboration on joint activities related to the identification and promotion of interpretation and presentation of World Heritage sites in the Arab region. Both entities, as Category 2 Centres under the auspices of UNESCO, are committed to enhancing the implementation of the 1972 World Heritage Convention.

The MoU sets forth the objective of establishing a general framework for cooperation to facilitate joint activities, meetings, information exchange, and technical assistance to Arab States. It aims to develop the capacities and knowledge of heritage professionals, foster dialogue, and address the interpretation and presentation of World Heritage sites.

Areas of collaboration include:

  • Promoting Cooperation: Facilitating cooperation between ARC-WH and WHIPIC in cultural and natural heritage in alignment with the 1972 World Heritage Convention’s Operational Guidelines.
  • Planning and Implementation: Collaboratively planning and executing activities addressing the interpretation and presentation of World Heritage sites in the Arab region, with a focus on enhancing strategies related to interpretation plans.
  • Capacity Building: Enhancing capacities of heritage professionals and site managers in preparing interpretation and presentation materials crucial for management plans.
  • Information Sharing: Sharing relevant information and documents of common interest and identifying themes for potential collaboration and joint studies.
  • Mutual Involvement: Engaging in meetings and activities related to policy development and thematic issues organized by either Party alone or in collaboration with other partners.
  • Mechanisms of Coordination: Establishing mechanisms for coordination and administrative implementation to plan, coordinate, implement, and supervise mutually beneficial projects.

The MoU signifies a significant step towards leveraging expertise and resources for the preservation and promotion of World Heritage in the Arab region.